No News Available


Year of establishment : 1927
Location : Dighalipukhuri (West)
E mail :

History : The Department of Botany was established in Cotton College in 1927. It was the first Botany department in the entire NE Region and Prof. Atul Chandra Dutta was its founder Head. The first year I.Sc. Class in Botany was started on 22nd July, 1927 in a small corner of the old Physics Laboratory (presently Bhuban Ram Das Bhawan) with a batch of 47 students. On 4th March, 1935, the department was shifted to its new premises and till today it is functioning from there. 25th October 1936 was a remarkable day for the department as Sir Jagdish Chandra Bose paid a visit to the department. In 1941, the department got affiliation to start B.Sc. course in Botany. The PG course in Botany under Gauhati University was introduced in this department in 1974. The Laboratories of the department have been recognized by Gauhati University for carrying out Ph.D. research. Botany department has been receiving fund from the UGC since 2008-09 under the scheme ‘Basic Scientific Research (BSR)’.