No News Available


Year of establishment : 1914
Location : 1st Floor, Banikanta Kakati Bhawan
E mail :

History : Since 1914, Economics has been the part of an umbrella department known as the Department of Economics, Political Science and Civics, where Prof. A.E. Brown was the founder teacher. The Department of Economics was established as an independent department of Cotton College in the year 1962. Prof. Ikramuddin Saikia was the first Head of the Department when it came to be recognized as an independent department. The Post-Graduate Course in the department under Gauhati University was started in 1985.